Our Leadership

At First Presbyterian Church, we, our staff and membership, work together to carry God’s ministry into the world.  With the guidance and leadership from our pastors and session elders we strive to faithfully serve God in all that we do.

Our Staff

Pastor Nominating Committee Update

At the end of November we received an e-mail from Garrett Mostowski, a seminary student at Princeton Theological School in New Jersey who was interested in our position. He has experience as a Youth Pastor and an Assistant Pastor. After calling on all his references and receiving a great response by all, we set up a Skype interview with Garrett on November 30 and again on December 6. Beginning in December the committee met once a week to begin plans to bring Garrett to Billings to deliver a sermon at the First Presbyterian Church there. After discussing a salary package for Garrett and to finalize his trip to Montana, Sharla Helland, PNC Chair, met with Session to get all approved. The entire committee traveled to Billings on January 7 to hear Garrett. Also present were George and Cathy Goodrich and several other members of the Montana Presbytery. Garrett was very well received and we were all amazed at his speaking ability and his calm demeanor. Garrett than traveled to Miles City that evening for a dinner with Session and the PNC. Monday and Tuesday he was shown around the Miles City area and on Tuesday evening he met with the Committee and we were all in agreement that Garrett would come to Miles City to be our Pastor. On March 4 Garrett returned to Miles City to speak in front of the congregation for their final approval. Thank you for your continued prayers and support!


First Presbyterian Church Miles City Pastor Nominating Committee Members: Bobbi Askin, Jerry Backlund, Duncan Bartholomew, Sharla Helland, Karie Regan, Sharon Sorlien.

Click on the link below to check out the 2017 Mission Study.

FPC Mission Study 2017




 Jan Dawson- Church Secretary

Jan was born and raised in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  She has been a resident of Miles City for the past 28 years. She and her fiancé have four children and eight grandchildren between them. She truly enjoys her work here at the church.  Jan is the voice you hear when you call and the friendly face waiting to great you when you stop in.

Contact Jan at:  mcfpc@midrivers.com

kelly pic

Kelly Backlund-Financial Secretary

Kelly manages the financial records of the church and payroll.

Contact Kelly via email at:





Our Session & Deacons

The belief that the people of God are called to be leaders is at the heart of the Presbyterian way. This commitment manifests itself in a style of “representative democracy” that is unique in the worldwide church.

This representative democracy is embodied in the boards of the church: the Session, the Board of Trustees, and the Board of Deacons. The officers who serve on these boards have been identified for their gifts of leadership and a commitment to the life and ministry of this congregation and are elected to three-year terms by the congregation.  

The Session is the governing body of the church. It is comprised of 9 members, called Elders (the translation of the Greek word presbyteros). The Session is responsible for the whole life and ministry of First Presbyterian Church.

The Deacon Board is responsible for ministries of care and outreach to the congregation and community. It is made up of 9 members who work together in teams, taking responsibility for the board’s various ministries.

Session Elders                   Deacons
 Sue Backland                         Jerry Backland
Brooke Bartholomew            Pat Conley
Caroline Fleming                   Beverly Geary
Paul Helland                           Nancy Gilbertson
Sharla Helland                       Nathan Kraft
Brooke Kmetz                        Gail Price
Delores Lathrop                    Mary Lou Russiff
Vern Taylor                            Stacy Scheid
Ellen Terret                            Bill Zook